The Divine Dance

The Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity

Exodus 34:4-6, 8-9

II Corinthians 13:11-13

John 3:16-18

 

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of the living God, who, by the will of the Father and the work of the Holy Spirit, through your Death gave life to the world, free me by this, your most holy Body and Blood, from all my sins and from every evil; keep me always faithful to your commandments, and never let me be parted from you.

 

I recite this prayer silently after we all say the Lamb of God. It is one of the several times during the Mass that I recite prayers silently during the Mass. I love saying this prayer, and I wish each time that you could hear it because it speaks of the Holy Trinity and I asks that I ‘never be parted from the Holy Trinity.’

 

We are here today to come to celebrate a mystery, a mystery that we will never fully understand but we hopefully we will know of its effects and come to a little better understanding of this wonderful mystery. The image that I liked the best to express the doctrine of the Holy Trinity is the one that is the most ancient. Our Church Fathers understood the Holy Trinity to be a dance between ‘One Being, made of three persons. Richard Rohrs wrote a book about the Holy Trinity titled “The Divine Dance.” Watching two people who know how to dance is wonderful, as they move as one. I would love to learn how to dance, but all I can do at best is the free flow. Turn me loose on a dance floor and let me bust my move, and I can bust a rug. The Holy Trinity invites us to participate in this Divine Dance. God wants to take us all back to heaven when we die, but God also wants his kingdom to be revealed here on earth, and this is where we are to be included in this dance.

 

In our first reading, Moses is invited to the Divine Dance as God appears to Moses in a cloud. As God passes before Moses, God says, “I am a God of mercy, and I am a gracious God, slow to anger and rich in kindness and fidelity.” Moses asks to enter the divine dance by saying, “If I find favor with you, please be in my company.”

 

St. Paul in our second is invited to the Divine Dance, and Paul says “When we are invited to this Holy Dance we are given a certain grace to know how to live. Greet each other with a holy kiss.” How have we used this grace that has been given to us by this Divine Dance? What if every embrace, ever sign of affection we make in the coming days was a ‘Holy Embrace’ that Paul speaks about, how different our lives would be?

 

In our Gospel, we are told that this Divine Dance is going on for our benefit “As God so loved the world that he gave his only Son to we will be saved in His love.” God gives us his Son we will know love. Do we know it, feel it, and live it?

 

My friends in Christ, it is awesome to think that we are invited to this Divine Dance. In this Divine Dance are we dancing in sync with our loved ones as one, knowing what they smell like, and knowing their every move and celebrating what can be done together? May we come to know we are loved and never be parted from God.

Leave a Reply

