We are on holy ground!

Friday Octave of Easter

Acts 4:11-12

John 21:1-14

I love Hoffmaster State Park in Muskegon. I have had many memorable moments of prayer walking the beach and the trails. I discerned my priesthood walking the trails and the beech. I go there when I want to meet Jesus along the way.

In our readings, there are those who go back to places that are familiar to them.

In our first reading, we have been following all week the healing of a crippled man that Peter and John came across as they entered the city through the “Beautiful Gate.” It was on Good Friday that Peter and John were in place witnessing the trial of Jesus, and Peter denied that he even knew Jesus. Today, Peter acts very differently as he boldly proclaims Jesus Christ as the one who was to come as the savior of the world.

In our Gospel, Peter goes back to fishing, and six others decide to go with him. I wonder, as Peter was trying to make sense of everything that had happened if he didn’t think, “I wonder if I went back to where it all began when Jesus called me and said, ‘Simon, I now call you Peter, and you will be fishing for me.'” Luke 5:10. Our story today is almost identical to Luke’s.

Peter returns, and Jesus appears to him just as he had done three years earlier. Jesus gives him a physical example of what he wants Peter to do. Go and make disciples of all people.

Where is a favorite place for us to go to meet Jesus? How are we filled with Easter joy? Do we know we come in direct contact with Jesus when we come here?

May this day be filled with Easter joy!

Leave a comment